The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Virginia Military Institute
   
 
  Nov 20, 2017
 
 
    
2013-2014 Academic Catalogue [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Institute Calendar 2013-2014


Critical Dates and Academic Calendar

First Semester - 2013

New cadets matriculate (Cameron Hall) Sat, 17 Aug
Old Corps returns Sun (2200), 25 Aug
Registration Mon, 26 Aug
Classes begin Tue, 27 Aug
Last day for course or curriculum change Tue, 3 Sept
1st Fall Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 6-7 Sept
2nd Fall Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 27-28 Sept
Homecoming Weekend Fri-Sun, 27-29 Sept
Parents Weekend Fri-Sun, 11-13 Oct
Fall FTX Fri (CAD)-Sun, 18-20 Oct
Founders Day (no classes) Mon, 11 Nov
Ring Figure Fri, 22 Nov
Thanksgiving Furlough Tue (1205)-Mon (2200), 26 Nov-2 Dec
Classes end Mon, 9 Dec
Reading Day Tue, 10 Dec
Exams Wed-Wed, 11-18 Dec
December Joint Commissioning Ceremony Tue, 17 Dec
December Graduation Wed, 18 Dec
Christmas Furlough begins Wed (CAD), 18 Dec

Second Semester -  2014

Christmas Furlough ends Sun (2200), 12 Jan
Registration Mon, 13 Jan
Classes begin Tue, 14 Jan
Last day for curriculum and course changes Tue, 21 Jan
Spring Furlough Fri (CAD)-Sun (2200), 7-16 Mar
Early Spring Reunion Mon-Tue, 24-25 Mar
Spring FTX (No classes Mon & Tue) Fri (CAD)-Tue, 4-8 Apr
Easter Break Fri (CAD)-Sun (2200) 18-20 Apr
Spring Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 25-26 Apr
Classes end Thu, 1 May
Reading Day Fri, 2 May
Exams Sat-Sat, 3-10 May
Institute Awards Ceremony Wed, 14 May
Commissioning Ceremony Thu, 15 May
New Market Day Ceremony Thu, 15 May
Commencement Fri, 16 May
   


       Class Changes:

       First Semester: Monday classes meet on Tuesday, 12 November
   
       Second Semester: Tuesday classes meet on Thursday, 3 April
  Monday classes meet on Wednesday, 9 April
   

  NOTE: Dates are subject to change by Official Published Orders.